Link copied

Australia sanctioned 110 Russian politicians

Australia sanctioned 110 Russian politicians

Australia has moved to further sanction more than 70 Russian politicians and more than 30 “puppet” Ukrainian government officials installed in the separatist regions of Donetsk and Luhansk.

Foreign Minister Marise Payne says the sanctions and travel bans on the 110 individuals are in response to the violation of Ukrainian sovereignty “through their assertion of governmental authority”.

Some of the sanctioned Russian parliamentarians voted in favor of the resolution calling for President Vladimir Putin to recognize the independence of the Donetsk and Luhansk regions, while the majority subsequently voted in favor of ratifying treaties with the regions.

“Australia reiterates our unwavering support for Ukraine’s sovereignty and territorial integrity, and for the people of Ukraine,” Senator Payne said.

Read more

Share this post