Link copied

European culture ministers express desire to support Ukraine post-war reconstuction

European culture ministers express desire to support Ukraine post-war reconstuction

A joint statement on Ukraine was adopted in Davos supported by Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Ukraine, as well as the Architects’ Council of Europe, the European Council of Spatial Planners, ICOMOS, Europa Nostra, the International Federation of Landscape architects Europe, the Conference of INGOs of the Council of Europe, Bouygues Bâtiment International (France) and the German Sustainable Building Council, condemning resolutely the continuing Russia’s military aggression against Ukraine and its deliberate attacks against Ukrainian people, civilian objects and infrastructure, including the destruction or damage of Ukrainian cultural sites and cultural heritage, in gross violation of international law.

Ministers of Culture and Heads of Delegations, as well as representatives of the participating organizations and businesses, on the eve of the annual meeting of the World Economic Forum, call on the international community to coordinate its efforts and cooperate with the Ukrainian authorities in helping to rebuild the country in line with the Lugano principles and the high-quality Baukultur values; and to strive for the maximum use of local human and material resources in rebuilding the country in order to support local competences, economy and climate neutrality and express the will and readiness to provide expertise and support to Ukraine in rebuilding the country.


Share this post